I’m having a half empty/half full kind of month.

The Half Empty Part-

I’m working on using createspace to provide Delphinus Contract in print form. The process is very time consuming and frustrating (it’s entirely possible I’m making it far harder than it needs to be.) I thought I’d mastered the whole formatting, converting and cover designs skills. I was so wrong. All this takes me away from the thing I love the most, writing.

A part of me is also struggling because all this was going to be taken care of by my publishing contract with PD publishing. So feeling angry all over again. I also think Amazon lures you in with tutorials on how easy it is to self publish with createspace and then when you run into problems they politely but insistently remind you that you can pay them to do it. I’m either too stubborn, determined or proud to give up now and hand it over to them.

The Half Full Part –

I will soon have a printed copy of Delphinus Contract in my hand. By the end of this I will have more skills under my belt and theoretically it will be easier next time. It’s going to be extra sweet knowing I did it myself. In reality I was getting very frustrated and disillusion by the publishing process and I was relieved to get the power to publish back in my hands. Though it takes me a while to get it right I love doing the cover design. Createspace provides another platform for getting out lesbian voices so through print and eBooks I can facilitate letting others enjoy escaping to a world where lesbians are the dominate culture.

I can’t decide if it’s a full circle moment or a double somersault with a twist moment. Since writing involves a heavy dose of optimism in your coffee every morning that the hours of isolation creating and birthing your stories are going to be well received by the world beyond your muse cave. I’m going to go with the Ralph Waldo Emerson quote and focus on the fact that “the task ahead of us is never as great as the power behind us.”

If that sounds too corny then there’s my other life motto (thanks to mikee) that usually kicks in when the coffee buzz runs out but it’s too early to self medicate with a glass of wine.

i-will-not-keep-calm-and-you-can-fuck-off-113

As Amazon and Createspace are my loyal companions on this self publishing journey please note my following disclaimer:-

This material is general in nature. It is made available on the understanding that G.V. Nett is not thereby engaged in rendering professional advice. I am therefore not responsible for any assumption of negativity. Readers should carefully evaluate its accuracy, currency, completeness and relevance for their purposes, and should obtain any appropriate professional advice relevant to their particular circumstances to which a reader is exposed. Blah Blah Blah.

This disclaimer is made on behalf of a loyal author who understands when she says publishing is back in my power she understands she only owns the words to which she is passionate about and not the distribution channel that allows her words get out to the world.